A Day In The Life Of A Boston Intern

Instagram: @DelightfulDaysBlog

Hi!

I hope you’re all doing great and enjoying the summer months. If you saw my college graduation post then you know I moved to Boston for a summer internship at the end of May. I only have a few weeks left in Boston, and throughout my time here I’ve created a pretty standard daily routine that I thought would be fun to share with you guys today.

IMG_2442

Morning

I wake up around 6:30 am, sometimes a little earlier sometimes a little later. I don’t have to be at work until 9:30 am but I like to be slow in the mornings and get a few things done before heading into the office.

I try not to check my phone the minute I wake up, but sadly many mornings the only way to get myself out of bed is to start the Instagram scroll to get my brain moving. Once I find the motivation to get up, I like to do a few stretches and yoga positions. I don’t give myself enough time to do a full practice (something I’m working on), but I still like to get the kinks out and get my body moving.

I do all the admin stuff and wash my face, brush my teeth, and put my contacts in so I can actually see what I’m doing. The combination of Boston’s humidity and my lack of air conditioning has made for one hot and sweaty summer. I’ve been using the Cetaphil Oil Control Foam Facewash, and it does a great job keeping my oil-induced acne under control. I do a fairly light and quick makeup look (everything will melt off anyway), do my hair and pick out an outfit for the day. I whip something up for breakfast and a lunch to-go if I didn’t make it the night before. On the days I don’t have time to pack, or simply don’t have the groceries, I like to treat myself to a Sweet Green salad, or one of the other many yummy places on Newbury Street. I’ll listen to some music or a podcast on my 25-minute walk to work, usually listening to The Minimalistsbut have also started looking into some other mystery podcasts. A few times a week I’ll stop at a cafe to get a morning coffee and do some work before work (lol), or just check in on my life on social media. I absolutely LOVE walking to work in Boston. It gives me some time to clear my mind, while having a work location like Newbury Street, also helps quite a bit.

IMG_2554 3IMG_2467IMG_2518IMG_3001

Evening

I work until 5:30pm and will sometimes have dinner or drink plans afterward. I love finding spots with daily deals, like Back Bay Social, that offer a wine flight and cheese board for $15, or Earl’s, a rooftop bar at The Prudential Center, that has a $5 drink of the month. The August drink is a Paloma and all I can say is YUM. If I don’t have plans, I’m most likely starving when I get home and immediately make dinner. I usually make some sort of gluten-free/vegetarian meal, but with an extremely tiny kitchen, I’ve found it difficult to make anything too elaborate lately.

After dinner, I’ll call friends or family, watch YouTube (the only people I consistently keep up with are Zoella and PointlessBlog) or go on a walk. Something I’ve found about working full-time is that it’s incredibly hard to make time for other priorities, like  Delightful Days, but I’ve been trying to at least maintain my content and write down all my ideas so they don’t get lost. Once I get home and make dinner its like BOOM, its already 8’o clock and I’m exhausted. I end up in bed between 10:30pm-11:30pm and will watch whatever show I’ve been into. Lately, I’ve been obsessed with Animal Kingdom on Amazon Prime, and highly recommend if you’re looking for something new! I put my fan directly on me (the no air conditioner life), and I’m out!

IMG_2979

I always love seeing what other’s days consist of, so I hope you enjoyed taking a peek in my shoes. Don’t forget to connect with on Instagram to stay updated on where I’m off to next!

Have a Delightful Day,

Kaitlin

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Day In The Life Of A Boston Intern

Leave a comment